top of page
Videos: HTML Embed
cu•ri•os•i•ty by Stephen Stanziano
Ekklésia Reed Quintet

cu•ri•os•i•ty by Stephen Stanziano

Members of Ekklésia Reed Quintet (bass clarinetist Travis Hogue-Smith, soprano saxophonist Thomas Lempner) perform a virtual premiere of Stephen Stanziano's "Curiosity" for ORMACO's Virtual Concert Series 2020. Stephen Stanziano Ekklésia Reed Quintet ORMACO cu•ri•os•i•ty is a new composition for Soprano Saxophone and Bass Clarinet written by Cleveland Composer's Guild member Dr. Stephen Stanziano during the COVID-19 Pandemic. Thomas Lempner and I are both members of the Ekklésia Reed Quintet and as part of our mission feel the importance of promoting local artists and their works is important for the cultural integrity of our amazing city and communities. We asked Dr. Stanziano to write a piece for this project as we know the loss of the "performance" aspect for musicians can be quite discouraging. Not only does this piece fill that missing aspect in a musicians new "normal", but the piece its self is centered around the human curiosity of learning new things one would never have thought they would want to or be interested in with the newly found time on one's hands during this crisis. Travis Hogue-Smith is a Clarinetists, Artistic Administrator, and graphic design hobbyist. He is the Director of Operations for the Miami Classical Music Festival, member of the Ekklésia Reed Quintet and the Cleveland Winds. Thomas Lempner is a member of the music faculty at Cleveland State University, The College of Wooster, Notre Dame College, and he is a woodwind coach for the Cleveland Institute of Music Cleveland Youth Wind Symphonies. Mr. Lempner currently performs as a member of Ekklésia Reed Quintet, Neo-Tessares Saxophone Quartet, Cleveland Winds, Akron Symphonic Winds, and many more local groups. Stephen Stanziano is an active composer, educator, and bassist in Northeast Ohio who holds a Ph.D. in music theory and composition from Kent State University. A member of ASCAP and former president of the Cleveland Composer's Guild, his works have been performed by the Cleveland Chamber Collective, Grammy-award winning guitarist Jason Vieaux, several Cleveland Orchestra members, and The Cleveland Chamber Symphony, among others.
Videos: Videos
bottom of page